Contemporary Fiction
  World Literature
  Latin American
  The Wild West
  Facing History
  Humorous Fiction
  Mystery / Suspense
  Detectives & Sleuths
  Espionage / Thriller
  Beyond Reality
  All Chapter Excerpts
  All Authors
  All Book Titles
  Join Newsletter
  Send us e-mail

Thank You for supporting!

Shop Amazon, support MostlyFiction

2002 National Book Awards

A consortium of book publishing groups sponsored the first annual National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City back on March 15, 1950. Their goal was to enhance the public's awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans, and to increase the popularity of reading in general.

Since then, The National Book Awards have become one of the nation's preeminent literary prizes, and The National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner is the important event on the literary calendar. Today, the Awards are given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature. The Winners, selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre, receive a $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture.

This year's National Book Awards ceremony and dinner will be held on Wednesday, November 20th at the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square. Winners will be announced at the cerememony.

For more information, visit The National Book Foundation Web site.

2002 FICTION finalists:

2002 NONFICTION finalists:

The National Book Foundation will confer its Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters this year on novelist Philip Roth, one of America's most acclaimed and inventive authors, whose prolific publishing history over six decades has achieved both best-seller status and critical praise.

The medal will be presented to Mr. Roth at the 2002 National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner, to be held on Wednesday, November 20 at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel. Mr. Roth will deliver an address to an audience of 1,000 authors, editors, publishers, friends, and supporters of books and book publishing. The evening benefits the Foundation's many educational outreach programs for readers and writers across the country.

Mr. Roth is the fourteenth recipient of the National Book Foundation Medal, established in 1988. Previous recipients are Jason Epstein, Daniel Boorstin, Saul Bellow, Eudora Welty, James Laughlin, Clifton Fadiman, Gwendolyn Brooks, David McCullough, Toni Morrison, Studs Terkel, John Updike, Ray Bradbury, and Arthur Miller.

The 2002 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters is bestowed by the Board of Directors with funds it has received from an anonymous donor.

As its name implies, the recipient of the Medal is a person who, in the opinion of the Board of Directors of the National Book Foundation, has enriched our literary heritage over a life of service, or corpus of work. Full article on his accomplishments.


2003 National Book Awards | 2004 National Book Awards | More Winners