all authors | all titles | home

2006 Hugo Award Winners

The Hugo Award was named in honor of Hugo Gernsback, "The Father of Magazine Science Fiction," as he was described in a special award given to him in 1960.

The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The distinguishing characteristics of the Hugo Award are that it is sponsored by WSFS, administered by the committee of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) held that year, and determined by nominations from and a popular vote of the membership of WSFS. In general, a Hugo Award given in a particular year is for work that appeared in the previous calendar year.

For more information, visit Hugo Winners

Key Dates:

August 26, 2006 -- Winner announced

Best Novel:


  • Spin by Robert Charles Wilson



For the full list of winners in all catagories, go here. Win Books | About Us| Last Modified | Join Newsletter | Contact Us | ©1998-2006