Contemporary Fiction
  World Literature
  Latin American
  The Wild West
  Facing History
  Humorous Fiction
  Mystery / Suspense
  Detectives & Sleuths
  Espionage / Thriller
  Beyond Reality
  All Chapter Excerpts
  All Authors
  All Book Titles
  Join Newsletter
  Send us e-mail

Thank You for supporting!

Shop Amazon, support MostlyFiction

2002 CWA's Macallan Dagger Awards

The winners of The Crime Writers' Association (CWA) Macallan Daggers were announced at the Crime Writers' Association The Macallan Awards Lunch, held at the Brewery, Chiswell Street, London on Thursday 7 November 2002.

The Athenian Murders by Jose Carlos Samoza won the 2002 The Gold Dagger. The judges' comment: "Complex, intellectually intriguing Ancient Greek crime. Plays tricks with the rules of detection, time itself, and the reader's expectations. A virtuoso performance."

The Final Country by James Crumley is the runner-up, winning the Silver Dagger. The judges' comment: "A wild, free-wheeling cocaine and bourbon fueled ride through Texas and America's mid west. Labyrinthine plot never fails to grip."

The other shortlisted titles were:

Mark Billingham - Scaredy Cat
Very impressive second novel which puts an original twist on the serial killer thriller. Strong and convincing London settings. Genuinely frightening.

James Lee Burke - Jolie Blon's Bounce
The past returns to haunt the present in a richly described American deep south. Superbly atmospheric and a powerfully evoked sense of evil.

Michael Connelly - City of Bones
Classic police procedural cutting to the heart of a small isolated crime. Places you right at the dirty end of an LA murder investigation.

Minette Walters - Acid Row
Tense and well orchestrated account of an inner city riot. A penetrating study of topical issues and mob hysteria. Thought provoking and ferociously fast-moving.

Overall, the judges' comments were: "The standard as in previous years was extremely high, entries were up on last year, and the judges regretted that they could not have a longer short list. Once again the truly international nature of crime writing is reflected."

The CWA Dagger in the Library
Peter Robinson is the 2002 winner of this award. The judges' comment: "The Inspector Banks novels are becoming grittier, darker and ever more popular. The hero is a maverick in the traditional style." This award, sponsored by the Random House Group, goes to the author whose work has given most pleasure to readers. It is judged by librarians.

The other shortlisted authors were Stephen Booth , Natasha Cooper/Daphne Wright/Clare Layton, Liz Evans, Quintin Jardine and Stuart Pawson.

2002 Cartier Diamond Dagger
Sara Paretsky was declared the winner of the 2002 Cartier Diamond Dagger, in recognition for her lifetime's achievement in the genre of crime writing. Sara Paretsky is the creator of V. I. Warshawski, a private investigator based in Chicago. V. I. or Vic--never Vicky--made her first appearance in Indemnity Only, published in 1982. With her heroine Paretsky was one of the pioneers who paved a way for many female authors, resulting in a wave of women detectives dealing with a wide range of social issues in their investigations. For this coveted award the CWA selects writers who meet two essential criteria. First, their careers must be marked by sustained excellence, and second, they must have made a significant contribution to crime fiction published in the English language, whether originally or in translation. The award is made purely on merit without reference to age, gender or nationality . Past winners include P.D. James, Dick Francis, Ruth Rendell, Colin Dexter, Ed McBain, Margaret Yorke and Peter Lovesey. The CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger Award for 2001 went to Lionel Davidson.


All Winners