all authors | all titles | home

2003 Willa Award Winners Announced

Awarded annually for outstanding literature featuring women's stories set in the West, the WILLA Literary Awards are chosen by a distinguished panel of twenty-one professional librarians. Awards were presented at the 9th Annual Women Writing the West Conference held in Tucson, Arizona October 24 through the 27, 2003. Finalist awards wer presented at the Saturday luncheon and winners received trophies in a formal ceremony at the Saturday evening banquet.

2003 WILLA Literary Award Winners and Finalists

Contemporary Fiction

WINNER: Perma Red by Debra Magpie Earling
FINALIST: Bad Faith by Aimee and David Thurlo Read Excerpt
FINALIST: No Man Standing by Barbara Seranella

Historical Fiction

WINNER: Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles
FINALIST: Strength of Stone by Dianne Elliott
FINALIST: The Chili Queen by Sandra Dallas

Visit Women Writing the West for more information.

2006 Willa Award | 2005 Willa Award | 2004 Willa Award | 2002 Willa Award | More Winners Win Books | About Us| Last Modified | Join Newsletter | Contact Us | ©1998-2006